Reflections on Krishna on the Janmastmi Day of 2017 (by Shiva Kant Jha)

(1)
My wish
My reflections which I would compile in this miscellany have roots in my desire to spend my time with Krishna in my consciousness. I cannot express my wish in words better than what Shankaracharya said in his well-known ‘Krishnastkan’:
यदा तदा यथा तथा तथैव कृष्णसत्कथा
मया सदैव गीयतान् तथा कृपा विधीयताम्
[ O Lord, Keep me blessed so that wherever I be, and in whatever conditions, I should sing your sacred lores.]
It is said that the great poet Bhikharidas (in the 18th century) had an active phase both as a man of the world and as a poet. Moments came in his life when he felt that reflection on Krishna was most satisfying. Tagore wished that his death comes as Krishna! ( मरण रे तुहु मम श्याम मान’). The most touching wish was expressed by Śrī Bilvamaṅgalācārya in his Śrī Govinda Dāmodara Stotraṁ while imploring his tongue to grant him the favor of uttering “Govinda, Dāmodara, Mādhava!” when the Lord Death comes to him liberate him from the cycle of lives:
त्वामेव याचे मम देहि जिह्वे
समागते दण्ड-धरे कृतान्ते
वक्तव्यमेवं मधुरं सुभक्त्या
गोविन्द दामोदर माधवेति ।।
[ I seek, O Tongue, your this sole benefaction.
When the Lord of Death catches me in His jaws
You sing with great devotion and deep delight
Reciting ‘Hey Govind, hey Damodar, hey Madhava.]
[Translation mine.]
I have all along my life have had moments with Krishna’s living presence. I have experienced His succour whenever I needed it most. I have got great light and immense delight reflecting on Him. Whilst the whole song of film 1857, sung by Surendra & Suraiya, delighted me with its pregnant expressions, I was touched most by the ideas and emotions reaching apotheosis in the song that can be heard at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3lQpiVGJwg.

(2)
I have written on my https://krishnachintan.wordpress.com/posts/ 24 blogs which I would develop in my book conceptualised on this Janmastmi day. I have drawn up tentative list of the chapters of this contemplated book which I intend sharing with all. A short account of my ideas touching most of the topics can be got in Chapter 20 of my memoir On the Loom of Time see at http://www.shivakantjha.org/pdfdocs/on_the_loom_of_time_2nd_edition/34_loom_20.pdf. In the contemplated chapter on status of the Bhagavad-Gita in the Mahabharata, I intend examining the conflicting perceptions of Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay in his immortal Krishana Charitra, and of Bal Gangadhar Tilak in his celebrated Gita Rahashya.
(3)
The contemplated chapters in my book on KRISHNA are these:
Krishnarpan
Part I
Prologue
1. On Understanding Krishna and his Bhagavad-Gita : an overview.
2.It is great fortune to be born MAN.
3. Krishna Katha is the richest ‘objective correlative’ that our culture conceived in its most creative moments.
4.The Structure of Krishna Katha.

Part II
THE ACTIONS
The Story of Krishna retold
5.The Coming of the Lord
6. The Vrindavan Phase: the Rasraj Krishna
7.The Mathura Phase: Karmayogi Krishna
8.The Mahabhat Phase: Gyana-Karma-Bhaktiyoga
9. Krishna’ holistic worldview

Part III
THE THOUGHT
The Bhagavad-Gita: As I understand it
10. Reflections on the Bhagavad-Gita
11. The Poetry of the Bhagavad-Gita
12. The status of the Bhagavad-Gita in the Mahabharata

Part IV
Understanding Krishna from my present-observation-post
13. Dharma & corollaries
14. On the Art of Life
15. Krishna on Wealth
16. Krishna on Power
17. Krishna on political thought.
18. Krishna’s cosmic philosophy
19. Man’s duties and destiny: the grammar of existence
20. The Right to Revolt for Dharma
21 The Art of Management
22. Krishna answers the Wallace Syndrome

Part V

THE JAGADGURU (The World Teacher)
23. Chapter 20 from On the Loom of Time
24. Krishna and modern times
25. Krishna the Jagadguru
26. Prayer
(4)

Whenever I think of Krishna and his Gita, I have felt the following songs sung inside my soul. I wish you should also listen to them for light and delight. They are:
(a) shivoham by Swami Satyanand Saraswati [ see post 18 at https://krishnachintan.wordpress.com/posts/,
(b) the mystery of ishq in the famous song by Siraj at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7pjtSIozaM,
and
(c) the Parapuja strotra by the great Samkaracharya https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRRjS1hqwbY,

Leave a Reply

