Recalling my visit to Kangchenjunga in 1997

                My mind went back to the days when as the Chief Commissioner of Income-tax for the North-East, I visited several places in the North-East of our country. Then I eas the Chief Commissioner of Income-tax for Bihar, Orissa, Assam and the North-East. I visited a place wherefrom I  could get a good view of the snow-clad Himalyan Range. I stood facing the majestic  Kangchenjunga.  This morning my mind went to recall  how the Kangchenjunga had appeared to me  in the early  morning , and  then again in the evening. I  had felt that from those  imageries some message was being communicated to me.  This third highest mountain in our world spoke through the shifting patterns of light and shade. If it was charming in the morning, it was no less delighting in the evening because of its epic grandeur with differing contents I had read that in similar experience,   the great physicist  Bohr had   found in it  rich poetry  of    complementarity. I  had read with great delight what his distinguished  disciple,  L.Rosenfeld,  has   written about  Bhor’s experience in witnessing the sunset  at the  top  of  Fujiyama: 

               “At  sunset  the  top  of  Fujiyama  disappeared  behind  a  curtain of  gold-fringed  clouds: the  black  mass of  the mountain,  surmounted  by  this  fulgent   crown, conveyed  an  impression of  awe  and  majesty. On  the  next  morning, it  offered  an  entirely  different  spectacle: the  pointed  summit  alone, covered  with shinning  snow, emerged  from  the   dense  mist  filling  the  valley;  the  landscape  was  radiating   gladness  and  joy.  So, Bohr  mused, the  two  half-mountains   together are not  simply  equal  to  a  mountain: to  each belongs  a  peculiar, individual  impression, and  the  two  are  complementary.”   [Selected Papers of Léon Rosenfeld, p. 322]

 

Leave a Reply

