Shri Krishna : My Light and Delight ( by Shiva Kant Jha)

 

 

“My study over more than a decade has led me to feel that ‘Krishna’ is the richest metaphor to reveal all that is the best in our cultural thought. You might have marked what constitutes my observation-post in the Chapter 20 of this Memoir. The poetry of Krishna’s personality is all absorbing as it is all satisfying, and all inspiring. Over these days I am writing about Krishna, and am enjoying the greatest joy while reflecting on Him. He seems to me most relevant to our times. Through his acts and thoughts he teaches us not only the art of life, and the ways of socio-psychic management, but also provides a worldview which appears to me most enlightening and  satisfying. He propounds, and illustrates through His deeds the principles of the existential grammar under which we work (योगः कर्मसु कौशलम्). When I told my wife that I intended to write on Krishna, she came out instantly: “You want to write about Him. You need not do that. A black bee hums on the lotus only till it has not tasted pollen: once it does, it becomes silent. Better make Him your soul’s song, and sing inside  hare Krishna hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna hare hare  ( हरे राम हरे राम राम राम हरे हरे * हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे ). I could see what she meant, but could say nothing. A black bee hums a lot before it descends on a lotus flower: once it does that it becomes silent even when, at the end of the day, it gets imprisoned in the flower for the whole night. I consider Krishna the richest ‘objective correlative’ that our culture ever conceived in its most creative moments. I feel, on deep reflections, that many things which I could not express, in this Memoir, about myself, and about the world I have witnessed, would get felicitous expression in my reflections on Krishna, if this book gets ever written. I intend to discover the metaphorical implications of the high poetry of the Bhagavada Mahapurna and the Mahabharata which express Krishna’s thoughts that found expression in His actions. I intend to undertake a quest to understand Krishna from my present-observation-post. Krishna is of great relevance to our modern times. We need Him as the Jagadguru to guide us how to move towards love and light. We need Him to help us save ourselves from the present-day versions of Kamsa, Jarasandha and the Kauravas. We need Him to expound the Bhagavad-Gita in modern idioms. We need Him to play again His flute for the world’s light and delight.”

[An extract from my memoir, On the Loom of Time, the Portrat of My Life & Time at p. 537 ]

 

 

 

Janmashtmi, Sept. 6, 2015

Leave a Reply

