The Sphota: KRISHNA DASHANA (By Shiva Kant Jha)

The Sphota: KRISHNA DASHANA

(By Shiva Kant Jha)

I  felt the cosmos exploded with an incessant shower of sparks, some big enough to subsume countless suns, some so small as not be enough even for a neutron to get parked. The sparks seemed to form waves in which the particles seem to move through variations with the fastest imaginable speed all shrouded in mystery. I saw a little of what was being unfolded without understanding what all that meant.

          It is amazing to notice that the blue sky was itself advancing (or receding) towards a realm that seemed to begin where the blue seemed to softly merge in the realm of ‘darkness’ the intensity and tone of which seem to increase. What was happening in that realm of darkness couldn’t be seen. All the sparks were fading out by slipping into that realm.

            It was amazing to see through spectra the   countless universes emerging and melting inside a spark whose number no supercomputer could count. Whatever aperture through the spectrum could be got, I saw the dance of Lord Shiva going on even in the tiniest parts. It was an alluringly frightening experience, perhaps to my astral body. Then I  heard, or I  felt I  heard the sound of Krishna’s flute. The sound was no ordinary sound. At times it seemed emanating from the conch, at times from damru, at times from the flute we are familiar with. Besides, it had countless other   sound patterns and effects which I  could neither explore, nor imagine. It seemed that whole that I saw getting revealed in that sound. It was strange to see in light and sound the same symmetry, same idiom, the same symbiosis.

             When my goes back to those moments, whose memory has almost faded now, I  feel I  had the luck to witness the sphota (‘the explosion’) coming from the imageries, the ultimate building-blocks for our experience, and/or thought. This word in Sanskrit poetics is difficult to be translated into English as there is no synonym. But I do not now whether the sphota was in  exterior world that I  had seen, or inside myself. In fact, the duality cease when there is sphota. In yoga, the sphota gives rise to naad that advances up towards the point of perfection. The yogis believe that naad is inherent in everything that universe contains. When it acquires attributes it expresses itself in the phenomenal world, but expressively in the  seven swaras in which creation sang its music of creativity; and which we imagine best expressed in Shiva’s damru, and Krishna’s bansuri (flute?). But when its attributes cease, it becomes just O’m that symbolises and expresses the  entire creative process. It is interesting to note that when Kabirdas thought of what best mission in life he should devote himself, he asked himself to advance towards that great delight the perfection of which are thus captured by his words bulding rich imagery.

Phaguna ke din chaar re holi khel mana re.

           My  yoganidra lasted for a few minutes, but for me it seemed hat eons had passed. That ‘blue sky’, that ‘light’, and that ‘sound’ I could remember for long, through mysteriously haze no doubt. I have reflected on them in my later years with a measure of fidelity that I  could muster.

                (  at Indirapuram: New Delhi  Oct., 2013)

Leave a Reply

